Double and Triple-Headers

General talk about Dynasty Leagues.
Cult of Dionysus
MVP
MVP

Double and Triple-Headers

Postby Cult of Dionysus » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:25 pm

So I'm just kinda playing around with a new league idea, and one concept that I'm thinking seriously about is using double and triple-headers. I've never used them before and typically had a negative view of them.

But I'm warming up to the idea. Hear me out.

Fantasy football is so much about luck. Week to week results are a total crapshoot. So why make a season depend on 13 individual matchups spread out over 13 weeks? Instead, wouldn't it make more sense to have 26 matchups spread over 13 weeks? Wouldn't that reduce the importance of luck, kinda like Victory Points?

Imagine if you will a 16 team league, with 4 divisions. You played seven tripleheaders against your division foes (total of 21 matchups), spread throughout the season. You also played six doubleheaders against other divisions (total of 12 matchups) for a total of 33 matchups, with the majority against your division rivals. Basically, you'd end up playing each of your rivals 7x and still get to face all 12 other teams 1x. If only the division champs made the playoffs, wouldn't this approach be really interesting.

One more cool element to having double and triple-headers. If you schedule a couple of triple-headers at the end of the regular season, it would keep a lot of teams in the playoff hunt. Why? Because if a team got hot in weeks 12 and 13, it could theoretically make up a ton of ground. I'm no math whiz, but wouldn't it be possible to make up a 6 game deficit?

That's pretty cool on its own. But as a whole, it could be pretty epic.

maxhyde
GOAT
GOAT

Re: Double and Triple-Headers

Postby maxhyde » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:03 am

I love leagues that do double headers. More games eliminates some randomness...of course, saves it for the playoffs. (Still a little bitter about last years playoff failures from my good teams)