Does this forum overvalue youth (or, more specifically, rookie picks)?

General talk about Dynasty Leagues.
Jaysof
Practice Squad
Practice Squad

Does this forum overvalue youth (or, more specifically, rookie picks)?

Postby Jaysof » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:36 pm

Hello, everyone. This is my first year playing dynasty, but I've played redraft for nine years now. Obviously dynasty is a completely different landscape from redraft, but one of the first things I noticed when I joined this forum was the valuation of rookie picks versus proven players.

Generally, I'm not talking about high 1st round picks. The Barkleys, Guices, and Pennys of the world deserve their price. However, according to this Rotoworld articlehttp://www.rotoworld.com/articles/nfl/7 ... -hit-rates, first round picks have a hit rate (with a generous definition of hit, as all that is necessary for a pick to be counted as a success is one top 24 season for a RB/WR or a top 12 season for QB/TE) of under 50%. If you remove one-hit wonders, the figure drops to 30%. Second round picks have a success rate of around 31%. The figure drops to 7% for players drafted in the third round or later. Then there's this numberFire article https://www.numberfire.com/nfl/news/190 ... aft-picks# by JJ Zachariason about how dynasty owners generally overvalue rookie picks.