Weak rookie draft or does that change

General talk about Dynasty Leagues.
Wizard
Role Player
Role Player

Weak rookie draft or does that change

Postby Wizard » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:50 pm

I'm new to dynasty and this year will only be my second rookie draft. I keep hearing/reading that this is not a particular good draft. Is it normal to have a draft to be thought of as weak and after the combines that changes? Or are the dynasty players on this site pretty in-tune with the talent coming in the drafts and this year's is just weak?
QB -Tom Brady, Nick Foles Deshaun Watson

RB - Kenyan Drake, Darrius Guise, Tevin Coleman, Leonard Fournett, Kareem Hunt, Justin Jackson, Jaylen Samuels, Carlos Hyde, Duke Johnson Jr., Jordan Wilkins, CJ Anderson, Chris Warren,

WR - Davante Adams , T.Y. Hilton, Courtland Sutton, Devin Funchess, Doug Baldwin, Michael Crabtree, Antonio Callaway, J’Mon Moore, Dylan Cantrell, Keith Kirkwood, James Richie

TE - Zach Ertz, Harris Demetrius, Hayden Hurst

Vcize
Ring of Fame
Ring of Fame

Re: Weak rookie draft or does that change

Postby Vcize » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:09 pm

I can only remember one time in recent history where fantasy players stayed uninterested in a draft even in May and that was 2016, and even in that case people were still very interested in the top 4 picks, just not the mid/late 1st and beyond.

Obviously that class had Zeke who was way better than anyone in this class but beyond him I think there are a large handful of guys better than the next guy up in that class. That class had only four RBs picked in the first 3 rounds of the NFL draft and I expect nearly double that this year, and the WRs of that class graded lower than I think several guys in this class will and ended up in relatively boring spots, whereas there are some really nice landing spots for WRs this year (lots of mocks have Cleveland or Indy grabbing a WR in the 1st, for instance).
12 Team FFPC TE Premium
QB: Herbert, Brady