Rookie Auction

General talk about Dynasty Leagues.
Cult of Dionysus
MVP
MVP

Rookie Auction

Postby Cult of Dionysus » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:00 pm

Here's a concept that I've been mulling over for a few months now. Rookie auctions.

I find that rookie drafts are way too predictable, especially if they occur after the NFL Draft. One solution would be to award rookie auction funds to teams, rather than rookie picks. The funds would have to be allocated on a sliding scale, from worst to first. I'm struggling to determine what the right amount would be. But if you'd hit the sweet spot, it would make for a really great auction.

Assuming a 12 team league: 22 (worst team) / 20 / 18 / 16 / 14 / 12 / 10 / 8 / 6 / 4 / 3 / 2 (champ)

Not sure how that would pan out...

whaley88
Role Player
Role Player

Re: Rookie Auction

Postby whaley88 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:16 pm

This is exactly how my league runs our rookie and devy drafts. I'll get with the commish and pass off our sliding scale.

Edit. We actually place money value on the draft picks that way when you trade picks yu are trading a set amount of money based off of the original owners placing.

MEuRaH
Legend
Legend

Postby MEuRaH » Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:36 pm

Pretty awesome idea. However, it defeats the purpose of giving the worst team the best player.

For example, if I was the worst team all year and I had X funds, there's a possibility that a playoff team traded his way into 3 firsts, and by simple addition, now has more funds than I do, and can take the best player unless I make more trades.

Of course there are ways around this, I get it. It's about your philosophy as a league player. Do you believe that the worst team should get the 1.01, or do you think that person should still have to earn it? I dunno.
ULTIMATE RB GURUs
2021 RB Injury Guru: abloom "Akers will suffer an ACL injury in the preseason and does not play during the season."
2021 RB Guru: qazxswedcvfrtgbnhyuj & McCafsteez -- Winners of the Antonio Gibson Wager!