Startup Draft QB Hoarding

Given the increase in popularity for SF and 2QB leagues, this forum is intended for topics relating to these formats.
UrbanYeti
Combine Attendee
Combine Attendee

Startup Draft QB Hoarding

Postby UrbanYeti » Fri Jul 06, 2018 5:54 am

Hello all! Usual lurker, first time forum poster.

I'm relatively new to SF (& Dynasty in general) and I had a startup begin earlier this week. I was hoping to get some veteran viewpoints on how this is playing out. I know you have to read and react to the draft, but it felt like most of the guys were treating it like a redraft league and the QB's kept falling. Most of the guys that I would consider drafting at, or near, ADP were gone in most of the rounds. So I just kept trading back and getting '19 1sts. At some point, I thought the value was too good not to start taking a QB. Then another... and another. Basically I ended up with with Luck, Jimmy G, Mariota, and Jameis in rounds 4 & 5. Currently through the 7th round, my only skill guys are Dalvin Cook & Ronald Jones. This led to a group discussion in our league chat on drafting philosophies and I'm either way off or the other owners are. Through 7 rounds, there are multiple teams without a QB & are looking at hoping guys like Josh McCown keep the job for a significant portion of the season. I never try to draft with the purpose of trading, but I think I'll have plenty of offers for any one of my QBs where I can recoup some of that lack of RB/WR depth I guess I'm just looking for general thoughts on hoarding more QB's than necessary in a SF if everyone else waits, or does this hurt your RB/WR groups too much, given that all the other teams loaded up at those positions while I was grabbing the QBs?

Thanks!

BucFanJKE
Captain
Captain

Re: Startup Draft QB Hoarding

Postby BucFanJKE » Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:49 am